BNP MP Jahidur Rahman takes oath

DHAKA, April 25, 2019 : Md. Jahidur Rahman Jahid , who was elected member of parliament (MP) from Thakurgaon-3 constituency on the BNP ticket, was sworn-in as a lawmaker.

Jatiya Sangsad (JS) Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury administered the oath of office to him at a ceremony at Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban here this morning , a JS spokesman told.

Chief Whip Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury, Whip Iqbalur Rahim and Whip Abu Sayeed Al-Mahmud Swapon were present on the occasion.

Senior Secretary of the parliamentary secretariat Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath-taking ceremony.

After the ceremony, Jahid also signed the oath-taking book for MPs.

The BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront got eight seats in the December 30 national elections.

Of them, BNP secured six seats.

In the meantime, the two Gonoforum MPs have already taken oath.