Gono Forum MP-elect Monsur to take oath tomorrow

DHAKA, Mar 6, 2019 : Gono Forum lawmaker-elect Sultan Muhammad Monsur Ahmed will take oath as a member of the 11th parliament tomorrow.

He will be sworn in as Member of Parliament (MP) at 11 am at the Jatiya Sangsad (JS) Bhaban, JS sources said here today.

However, another MP-elect of the party Mokabbir Khan will not take oath tomorrow, said a Gono Forum press release here today.

According to the release, Khan will take oath later.

On Sunday, the office of Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury issued separate letters to the duo Gono Forum leaders inviting them to take oath.

On March 2, the Gono Forum MPs-elect sent letters to the Speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on March 7.

Sultan Monsur, former vice-president of Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU), was elected Member of Parliament from Moulvibazar-2 constituency and Mokabbir Khan was elected from Sylhet-2 seat.

Opposition alliance the Jatiya Oikya Front, comprising mainly the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and the Gono Forum, secured eight seats in the 11th parliamentary polls held on December 30, 2018.