PM pays homage to Bangabandhu, four national leaders on Jail Killing Day

DHAKA, Nov 3, 2018 : Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today paid rich tributes to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and four national leaders marking the Jail Killing Day.

In memory of the leaders, the Premier placed wreaths at the portrait of Bangabandhu in front of Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi Road No 32 here this morning.

Sheikh Hasina first laid a wreath as the prime minister at the portrait of Bangabandhu around 7.00 am.

After placing the wreath, she stood in solemn silence there for some time as a mark of profound respect to the memories of the national leaders.

Later, flanked by central leaders of the party, Sheikh Hasina placed
another wreath as the President of Awami League (AL) at the portrait of Bangabandhu.

Awami League Advisory Council Members Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed and Advocate Yusuf Hossain Humayun, Presidium Members Begum Matia Chowdhury, Mohammad Nasim, Advocate Sahara Khatun, Dr Abdur Razzak and Abdul Matin Khasru, General Secretary Obaidul Quader and Joint Secretaries Mahbubul Alam
Hanif and Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Organizing Secretaries AFM Bahauddin Nasim and Enamul Haque Shamim and Office Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap, Cultural Affairs Secretary Ashim Kumar Ukil and other central leaders of the party were present.

Later, the leaders and workers of Awami League’s associate bodies,
including Awami Jubo League, Chhatra League, Mohila Awami League, Sramik League, Krishak League, Jubo Mohila League and Swechchasebok League, as well as other socio-cultural organizations also paid homage to Bangabandhu and four national leaders by placing wreaths at the portrait of the Father of the Nation on the occasion.

On this day in 1975, the killers of Bangabandhu stormed into the Dhaka Central Jail in the early hours and assassinated the four national leaders — Tajuddin Ahmed, Syed Nazrul Islam, Captain Monsur Ali and AHM Kamaruzzaman — who led the Liberation War in the absence of Bangabandhu in 1971 and snatched the victory for the nation.