PM asked technocrat ministers to resign: Quader

DHAKA, Nov 6, 2018 : Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has asked the technocrat ministers to resign from the cabinet, Road Transport and Bridges Minister and Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said here today.

“She has asked the technocrat ministers in the cabinet to tender their resignation letters,” Quader said in a brief comment ahead of the premier’s dialogue with eight Islamic parties at Ganabhaban here this afternoon.

Quader, however, added that the prime minister would address a press conference on the outcome of the Awami League-led 14-party ruling coalition dialogue with opposition parties and groups at Ganabhaban on November 8 and no dialogue will be held after Nov 7.

The cabinet now has four technocrat ministers.

They are: Post and Telecommunications and ICT Minister Mostafa Jabbar, Science and Technology Minister Architect Yeafesh Osman, Religious Affairs Minister Principal Motiur Rahman and Expatriates Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Nurul Islam BSc.