India eves dump Bangladesh to raced into SAFF final

DHAKA, March 20, 2019 : Bangladesh women’s football team’s hope of playing final of the SAFF Women’s Championship vanished into blue as they suffered 0-4 goal drubbing at the hand of defending champions India in the second semifinal held on Wednesday at Shahid Rangasala Stadium in Biratnagar, Nepal.

Indian led the first half by 3-0 goals and set the final date with host Nepal scheduled to be held on Friday (March 22) at the same venue.

In the day’s match, Dalima Chibber opened an account for India in the 18th minute while Indumati Katheresan doubled the lead scoring the second goal for her side in the 22nd minute of the match.

She further widened the team’s margin scoring her second and third for the team 37th minute while Manisha sealed the victory scoring the fourth goal for India in the 90+3rd minute of the match.

India dominated the whole proceeding in the match and notched their deserving victory while Bangladesh was total off-colored on the day.

However Bangladesh could have pull one back but skipper Sabina Khatun failed to send the ball home from hand shake distance in the dying moment of the match.

Bangladesh finished group A runners-up losing to host Nepal by 0-3 goals before winning the first match against Bhutan by 2-0 margin.

Earlier, in the day’s first semi-final, Nepal women’s team mauled Sri Lanka women’s team by a similar margin of 4-0 to enter final of SAFF women’s championship.

In the day’s match, Punam Jargha Magar ( 42nd ), Anita Basnet ( 73rd), Sabitra Bhandari ( 82nd ) and Rekha Paudel ( 85th ) scored apiece for Nepal.

Nepal never won the SAFF title despite reaching the final on four occasions.

Bangladesh squad: Mahmuda Akter, Rupna Chakma, Yasmin Akther, Masura Parvin, Mossammat Akhi Khatun, Mossammat Nargis Khatun, Nilufa Yasmin Nila, Shamsunnahar-1, Sheuli Azim, Mossammat Mishrat Jahan Moushumi, Maria Manda, Monika Chakma, Mossammat Ishrat Jahan Ratna, Sanjida Akhter, Marzia, Mossammat Sirat Jahan Shopna, Sabina Khatun, Srimoti Krishnarani Sarkar, Mossammat Razia Khatun, Shamsunnahar-2 and Tohura Khatun.